Orpheus-Ensemble-Wien © Christoph Holy; Eric Lamb © Andrej Grilc
Summer Concert • Orpheus-Ensemble-Wien, Eric Lamb
Arnold Schönberg Center
Tuesday, 24 August 2021
6.30 pm
Orpheus-Ensemble-Wien © Christoph Holy; Eric Lamb © Andrej Grilc

   Christina Neubauer violin
   Martin Kraushofer viola
   Elisabeth Aigner-Monarth piano
Eric Lamb flute

Max REGER Serenade G major for flute, violin and viola op. 141a
Julia PURGINA Preludio for violin and viola
Lili BOULANGER D'un matin de printemps for flute and piano
Lili BOULANGER Nocturne and Cortège for violin and piano
Sofia GUBAIDULINA Toccata – Troncata
Sofia GUBAIDULINA Invention
Amy BEACH Romance for violin and piano op. 23
Rebecca CLARKE Dumka for violin, viola and piano

Free admission | registration required

Max Reger's Serenade op. 141a was performed a total of four times in the last year of the "Verein für musikalische Privataufführungen" founded by Arnold Schönberg. The piece belongs to the composer's late work and in its clarity ties in with French modernism, as it becomes sound in the work of Lili Boulanger, who died young. Along with Amy Beach and Rebecca Clarke, she is one of the often underrated representatives of European modernism. Pieces by Sofia Gubaidulina, the grande dame of Russian music, as well as the 2016 "Preludio" by Julia Purgina lead into more recent times.

The concert will be streamed live on facebook and YouTube and will be available seven days after the concert.